The History of SHAZAM

Like most of the DC universe, SHAZAM history falls into three distinct eras: pre-Crisis (from SHAZAM's origin in 1939 to 1985, post-Crisis (from after The Crisis of Infinite Earths in 1985, when the DC universe consolidated from an infinite number of parallel universes to just one, to 1994) and post-Zero Hour (everything from 1994's Crisis's temporal sequel to the present).

Warning: If you haven't read any of these stories but plan to, bear in mind that the history section contains many spoilers.

© Mark Wann 2012.  All characters owned by DC Comics.